Faculty & Staff

Mike Mooney, PHD, PE

Grewcock Distinguished Chair, Professor of Underground Construction & Tunneling, Director of Center for Underground, Director of UCTE Graduate Program Deputy Director, University Transportation Center, Director of UCTE Graduate Degree Program mooney@mines.edu

Marte Gutierrez, PHD

Director, University Transportation Center (UTC) for Underground Transportation Infrastructure,
James R.Paden Distinguished Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering mgutierr@mines.edu

Reza Hedayat, PHD

Research Experiences for Undergraduates Coordinator,
Assistant Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering hedayat@mines.edu

Gabriel Walton, PHD

Graduate Program Coordinator, UTC for Underground Transportation Infrastructure,
Assistant Professor of Geology and Geological Engineering
and Underground Construction and Tunnel Engineering gwalton@mines.edu

ALFRED (BILL) EUSTES III, PHD, PE

Associate Professor, Petroleum Engineering
aeustes@mines.edu

Jorge Sampaio, PHD

Associate Professor, Petroleum Engineering jsampaio@mines.edu

Joseph Samaniuk, PHD

Assistant Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering samaniuk@mines.edu

Andrei Swidinsky, PHD

Associate Professor, Geophysics aswidins@mines.edu

Hugh Miller, PHD, QP

Associate Professor, Mining Engineering,
Research Director – Energy, Mining & Construction Industry Safety Program (EMCIS)
hbmiller@mines.edu

RICH KRAHENBUHL

Research Assistant Professor, Geophysics rkrahenb@mines.edu

Rennie Kaunda, PHD

Assistant Professor, Mining Engineering
rkaunda@mines.edu

Shiling Pei, PHD

Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
spei@mines.edu

Lori E. Tunstall, PHD

Assistant Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering ltunstall@mines.edu

Ritch Shidemantle

Senior Project Engineer
rshidemantle@mines.edu

Carole Marie

Research Administrator
cmarie1@mines.edu

 

Louis Piccione

Mechanical Engineer
lpiccione@mines.edu

Jianger Yu

Post Doc Fellow
jiangeryu@mines.edu

 

Bryant Robbins

Research Civil Engineer
rbryantrobbins@mines.edu

Vitaly Proshchenko

Machine Learning Research Scientist
vproshchenko@mines.edu

 

Minsu Cha

Research Associate
mcha@mines.edu

Rakshith Shetty

Post Doc Fellow
shetty@mines.edu

 

Phyllis Johnson

Finance Manager
pbjohnso@mines.edu

Kim Brock

Operations, Stakeholder Relations and Marketing Manager
kbrock@mines.edu